What they don’t tell you about the gym – 10 fun facts

Okay so the gym themselves aren’t lying, they’re pretty transparent. You just need to do your research before hand and quiz them before you join! It helps to be in the know of all the deals they have done previously, as joining mid-month in a quiet period can work out a lot cheaper.

Find out why I’m taking a more relaxed approach to fitness in my ‘A Flat stomach in three weeks?!‘ blog.

So I have joined Nuffield Health recently and I’m on a bit of a health kick. Turns out my metabolism still has it! Here’s a few things you find out after using it for the first time.

fun facts about the gym fitness blogger lifestyle Nuffield Health review funny womens health

10 Fun facts

  1. Your fanny will hurt after the first few times at spin class – Unfortunately, the seats don’t fit like a glove and rub in all sorts of places! But you get used to it after a few classes, just push through it!
  2. Personal trainers aren’t actually that scary – they want you to be healthier and look to encourage you!
  3. The huge tyre is heavier than it looks – it’s 60kg! I was almost moving something twice the weight of myself!
  4. The old grannies that go to step class aren’t frail – not one bit! In fact, they’d probably kick your ass! So don’t tick them off!
  5. You don’t need a protein shake – body builders will tell you that all that whey protein was a huge fad. You don’t need supplements as long as you’re getting the right amount of protein in your diet.

    fun facts about the gym fitness blogger lifestyle Nuffield Health review funny womens health
    Just abs of steel or trained assassin?
  6. The gym equipment is pretty gross – everyones pretty lazy and can’t move after a full on workout. So the gym equipment probably has the sweat of everyone before you on it. Thankfully there’s readily available cleaning products handy to clean them. Yes, I did get a smelly mat that smelt like cheesy feet!
  7. Big contracts don’t necessarily mean expensive – if you use the gym everyday it works out about £1-2 a day! Even then you get full use of all the facilities i.e. hello sauna and jacuzzi!
  8. Classes are actually a lot of fun – starting out can be a little daunting being the new person, but as with everything practise makes perfect!
  9. Gym wear is more important than it seems – it won’t just be aesthetically pleasing to motivate you more, but having sweat wicked away and the right sports bra makes a difference! Look good AND feel good whilst working out! How to chose your sports bra blog post coming next tuesday, follow us on social media to be notified
  10. You will feel a lot better – you’re less tired and have more of a drive to do things. Teamed with a healthy diet, you’ll have energy for days!

fun facts about the gym fitness blogger lifestyle Nuffield Health review funny womens health

But the gym is a fun way to stay healthy

So that’s a fun few facts for you after my first month in the gym, and my new shopping obsession is funky gear that’ll make my work outs a lot more chic! After trying out most of the classes so far I do enjoy the united feel, having peers not only motivate you but also challenge you in ways you least expect! I have always liked classes from my various dance classes from a young age, so when they started getting labelled ‘adult classes’. I bolted. No one clinging to their youth wants to admit they’re adults! So gym classes has filled that void for now. I haven’t quite gotten into solo training yet as it’s not quite my front, but I’m sure that will come in time after I pick up some routines!

Check out the heath benefits of regular exercise in my last health blog here.

Happy gym bunny :o)

-Rinniboo

What they don’t tell you about the gym – 10 fun facts

2 thoughts on “What they don’t tell you about the gym – 10 fun facts

    1. Hi Elizabeth! I’m glad you like it, it was fun to write! There is a lot of different gyms to suit your needs, even Pure Gym do great classes if you don’t need the extra swimming prices (it works out even cheaper!) I hope you do conquer your fears! I had to find the motivation to join the gym, but now I love everything about it! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

