Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation – is it really magic??

When celebrities favourite make up artist Charlotte Tilbury finally released her own skincare and make up range, people were like ‘finally!’ now everyone can own a little make up magic!

Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair
Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair

So after using Estee Lauder’s Double wear foundation, I wanted something with a more natural finish. I wanted to switch it up after going through two bottles of Double wear, and I couldn’t find anything I fancied in the usual pharmaceutical stores. So, when the new launch of the range opened in my local John Lewis after seeing it in Selfridges, I thought I’d give it a go. And WOW…

Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair
Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair

It’s a lot smoother and less thick as Double wear, but I hope it lasted as long and had good coverage. I was right, it stayed on a full day of wear and is buildable. Unfortunately if I do put on too much the shade is visibly a lot darker, which is a no-no because just my face looked tanned! But the application to the skin is like SILK, it caresses on and then blends seamlessly. I just pat over with a small sponge to finish and some powder to set.

Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair
Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair

Double wear takes a little longer to work into the skin being a thicker consistency, so being thinner it involved a lot less blending. Although they both will streak if you don’t apply it correctly, you just need to take the time to get that flawless finish.

Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair
Charlotte Tilbury Magic foundation in fair – Images from http://www.charlottetilbury.com

Overall, I think it’s best being used with the full skincare prep with the magic cream and Wonderglow primer so you have the proper moisture and barrier. Unfortunately it’s all adds up to a big spend, but using the foundation alone causes break outs and blocked pores a lot easier on my skin regardless of how much cleansing and exfoliation I do.

Do you prefer the higher end foundations? Let me know in the comments below!

Rinniboo

Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation – is it really magic??

Leave a Reply

