No stain drinks and brushing your teeth

So if you’re whitening your teeth and read my previous posts about sensitive teeth whitening, and maintaining your white smile with the right stain prevention teeth whitening toothpastes. Here’s more tips on how to maintain those pearly whites!

Brushing your teeth and no stain drinks
Brushing your teeth and not staining them is key to maintaining your white smile.

Like I said, whiter teeth is a change in what food you expose to your teeth, which means you need to watch what you put in your mouth. So during my research of teeth whitening toothpastes that are non abrasive I looked into other ways of maintaining my white smile.

Puredental’s list of aftercare

Substances that stain:

  • Red sauces such as tomato sauces
  • Dark chocolates
  • Teas and coffee
  • Dark coloured berries and pigmented green vegetables
  • Red wine
  • Tobacco products
  • Cola
  • Soy sauce
  • Curries and Chilli’s
  • Lipstick

Examples of somethings you can have:

  • Clear or white fluids e.g. lemonade, ager, tonic
  • White wine
  • White chocolate or Horlicks
  • Chicken or fish with rice
  • Tagliatelle carbonara
  • Jacket potato with cheese/chicken or tuna mayo
  • Corn flakes or porridge
  • White chocolate
  • Banana

That’s the basic outline for when you’re whitening your teeth. It seems you’d have a pretty crazy diet during this time and it would be difficult to carry on with it after the whitening 14 day process, especially seeing that you can’t have certain green vegetables. Coming from a person that likes to try and eat 5 different coloured vegetables and fruit a day, I like the option of being able to eat what I like in acceptable portions. So I still avoid teeth staining substances such as tea and coffee after I went back to my freedom of eating what I like, but adapted a better oral hygiene. I already floss and brush my teeth effectively twice a day, but I upped it to three times a day after every meal. If I couldn’t brush my teeth after a meal, I’d rise my mouth with water for the time being. I’d also use a straw for any drinks, including sugary/fizzy drinks.

I remember when I was a child, our trips to the dentist consisted of being shown how to clean our teeth properly with a tooth-brush. You have to really get every surface of every tooth; so even the canines which is commonly skipped because people need to turn the toothbrush around to brush the other side when they reach these teeth. It also included holding the toothbrush at a 45 degree angle towards your gum line for an effective motion on removing plaque. Dentists have worked out that if you brush properly, it should take around 3 mins. So avoid over brushing by applying too much pressure, as this can do more harm than good. You don’t need an electric tooth-brush, as its how you use it that counts. You won’t get cleaner teeth with an electric tooth-brush if you’re brushing your foot with it basically!

But if you’ve already got your technique down to a T then here’s some snazzy electric toothbrushes you can splash out on to make the experience more streamlined:

Oral-B Pro 5000 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush - powered by Braun
Oral-B Pro 5000 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush – powered by Braun. NOW ONLY £89.99 EXCLUSIVELY from Boots (Save £85 Was £169)

Oral-B Pro has lights on the side to let you know when you’re applying too much pressure, so sensitive teeth due to damaged teeth averted!

Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Pink HX9361/67 Rechargeable Toothbrush
Philips Sonicare DiamondClean Pink HX9361/67 Rechargeable Toothbrush NOW ONLY £124.99 from Boots (Save £125 Was £249.99)

Philips Sonicare know what luxury is with their Diamond Clean in black and pink. If you love pastel pink as much as me, this is a great treat! The faux ‘glass cup’ charging port is a great look too that’ll blend right in with bathroom.

I find I prefer an electric toothbrush as it’s less arm movement needed with the back and forth motion, and you don’t need to apply much or any pressure at all as it glides over the teeth. As always good oral hygiene with teeth brushing, flossing, and tongue brushing with regular visits to the dentist for professional cleaning will all contribute to maintaining a beautiful smile!

Smile happy!

Rinniboo

No stain drinks and brushing your teeth

Leave a Reply

