Why you should never dye your hair

With the granny hair craze, peroxide blond locks like Kim Kardashian and pink/unicorn/rainbow hair that’s trending, you’re probably thinking ‘I really want to finally dye my hair’… DON’T DO IT!

Rinniboo hair colour and style
My current hair colour

It varies for everyone as we all have different hair types, colour and resistance, but all hair dressers will back be when I say “once you bleach it, you won’t be able to get your old hair colour back, ever.” In fact the only way to do it is to grow it all out, and we all know that takes years!

I learnt this the hard way, going through it all by myself and experimenting. Going from subtle shades of red, purple, and blue and then deciding to throw bleach into the mix, what I didn’t realise is that I wouldn’t be able to ever go back toΒ my natural hair colour again, until I read an article on bleaching your hair for the first time. Yes, I left a little grief but I like being spontaneous with my hair, always just “throw it on and see what happens”

I managed to go blonder and blonder, bleaching my roots lighter every time it grew out and I was happy with how light I managed to get it. I had a great hairdresser helping me make it possible.

Rinniboo hair story before and after
Before and after going back to dark.

But then my favourite hair dresser left to move to Germany, and then I had a terrible experience having 3 hairdressers on my hair trying to get it just as light.Β So that’s when I decided I don’t have the time or money to maintain blond hair and that I’m definitely going back dark this time.

Going so dark so fast was a shock to the system, sure it looked better than the mess it was before, but when the hairdresser promised a ‘light brown’ and even showed you samples, for it to go black instead, it was definitely a ‘WTF’ moment. What hairdressers won’t or can’t tell you is that if you’ve bleached your hair so light, it becomes so porous, it just sucks in all of the dye and goes many shades darker than the original dye colour. So if you put any shade of brown in extremely bleached hair, it will most definitely go black!

But hey, if you’ve done extensive research and think you’ll love the change, have the time and money to maintain it, and have some proper professional help. Go for it! Do what makes you happy, but always be informed. Do I regret my hair dye journey? NOPE.

Dye happy!

Rinniboo

Why you should never dye your hair

One thought on “Why you should never dye your hair

  1. With the granny hair craze, peroxide blond locks like Kim Kardashian and pink/unicorn/rainbow hair that’s trending, you’re probably thinking β€˜I really want to finally dye my hair’ Before you dye yours, check out my hair story and pick up some tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

