Teeth whitening toothpastes

So you’ve probably noticed that shiny new Janina toothpaste in my last post. It’s magical.

From bottom anti-clockwise: Philips Zoom Teeth Whitening kit, tray moulds, and teeth whitening toothpaste.
From bottom anti-clockwise: Philips Zoom Teeth Whitening kit, tray moulds, and teeth whitening toothpaste.

Okay, maybe it’s not ‘magic’ magical but I’ve done a bit of research on how to maintain white teeth. After spending so much money on it, you’d want do your best to keep it.

I’ve tried a few brands of teeth whitening toothpastes, Colgate, Aqua Fresh and Pearl Drops to name a few but I’ve never found any whitening effects in the slightest. In fact it actually makes my teeth unnecessarily sensitive. So I did some digging and found two types of whitening toothpastes: abrasive components (perlite/calcium carbonate) and enzymatic components (papain and bromelain)

It seems the majority of teeth whitening toothpastes out there use the abrasive approach as a way of removing stains from the teeth. This means the daily abrasion caused by the toothpaste causes teeth sensitivity and possibly more harm than good. So I went on a hunt for a toothpaste with the enzymatic components that are easy to come by, that’s when I found Janina Sensitive Toothpaste that has both enzymes in it.

Janina Sensitive Toothpaste
Janina Sensitive Toothpaste 

What Janina say:

RRP £10.99

Janina Sensitive Toothpaste contains natural enzymes from Papaya and Pineapple to promote low abrasion whitening results. Its formula has been specially developed to decrease teeth sensitivity to cold, heat, contact and acids. This formula contains the Whitening Patented Bromaine Complex, a combination of natural enzymes (Bromelaine from Pineapple and Papain from Papaya) to whiten teeth without the use of harsh abrasives.

My verdict:

I bought it on offer in Boots for around £8 which is the best offer I could find at the time, but it’s currently £9.98 from Amazon.

After using it for over two weeks now, I’m not certain it contributes much towards the stain prevention aspects, because I feel if I consume a meal that potentially stains my teeth afterwards, it’d just stain away. But I do love the post brush feel, almost the ‘dentist clean feeling’ not exactly after a good scaling, but definitely a good polish! They feel super slick and shiny. In terms of sensitive zing prevention when eating cold things, I still get a zing from eating things straight from the fridge. So for all that, I think it’s probably worth about half the price that it’s normally sold for, but it seems my ‘teeth whitening’ tooth paste hunt is not over yet.

I will just keep whitening my pearly whites with my home teeth whitening kit until then, and rubbing papaya and pineapple on my teeth (eating most of it!).

Keep smiling,

Rinniboo

Sources: Enzyme vs Abrasion case study | Janina

Teeth whitening toothpastes

Leave a Reply

