Kale

kale and healthy eating, eat because you like it
Wilted Kale with a poached egg and crispy bacon bits.

Now, I don’t eat this miracle green stuff because its all the rage right now with all it’s ‘antioxidants’ and ‘anti-cancer’ qualities. I eat it because I LOVE my fruit and vegetables.

I find the baby kale is probably the best and easiest to cook and eat. I treat it a bit like spinach, it shrinks a lot in the pan but it’s a lot softer than the big bags of the older kale that has a hard midrib (the spine of the leaf). But I find kale has a similar taste and texture to cabbage.

How I cook it:

  • In a medium heat pan add half a tea-spoon of coconut oil.
  • Once the oil has warmed and coated the pan add a large handful of baby kale and cook.
  • When the kale is well wilted add a dust of sea salt to flavour.

Easy peasy! I team it with eggs and bacon or an omelette. If you’re not too keen on the taste you can make kale chips or top it with a bit of sauce. Have fun experimenting and eat because you love it!

I still like the occasional doughnut.

Rinniboo.

Kale

Leave a Reply

